Legislator of the Year Award

Advocacy is one of the cornerstones of our profession and challenging social injustice is one of our ethical responsibilities. Within NASW's Code of Ethics, we are guided as “social workers to pursue social change, particularly with and on behalf of vulnerable and oppressed individuals and groups of people. Social workers' social change efforts are focused primarily on issues of poverty, unemployment, discrimination, and other forms of social injustice. These activities seek to promote sensitivity to and knowledge about oppression and cultural and ethnic diversity. Social workers strive to ensure access to needed information, services, and resources; equality of opportunity; and meaningful participation in decision making for all people”

Effective communication is vital whether that is trying to improve services at the building level or advocating for state policies or shaping national policy. To be true agents of change, We cannot change the world alone. By following the path of wisdom shared by Chief Sitting Bull, “let us put our minds together and see what life we can make for our children.”

Thus, MSSWA acknowledges the necessity of cultivating connections and relationships with various stakeholders and decision-makers like those in the legislature to create a world where all people are treated with dignity and worth and have access to equitable resources and supports. Since 2003, MSSWA has honored various Legislators for their ongoing advocacy for children, youth, families, schools and communities. MSSWA is delighted to celebrate those individuals that demonstrate a commitment to being true champions of social justice at the local, state or national legislature every year during our Fall Conference. 

Here is a full list of the MSSWA Legislator of the Year Award Recipients:

History of Legislator of the Year Award

Julie Campanelli

Sherry Murphy

Courtney Stenseth

Brianna Nelson

Legislative Chair
Christy McCoy

Professional Development Chair
Abby Refsland

Kate Adams

Cara McGlynn

If you are having difficulty with your on-line membership or conference registration, please contact msswafandm@gmail.com

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software